Indian Army is land based branch of Indian Armed Forces. President of Democratic Republic of India is Supreme Commander of Indian Army, and Army is commanded by Chief of Army Staff (COAS) a four star General.

 Founded  1 April 1895
 Size  12,37,117 active personnel and 9,90,960 reserve personnel
 Headquarter  New Delhi
 Motto  ” Service Before Self “
 Anniversaries  15 January (Army Day)
 Chief of Army Staff  General Manoj Mukund Naravane, PVSM, AVSM, SM, VSM, ADC
 Vice Chief of Army Staff  Lieutenant General Satinder Kumar Saini, AVSM, YSM, VSM

The primary mission of the Indian Army is to ensure national security and national unity, defending the nation from external aggression and internal threats, and maintaining peace and security within its borders. It conducts humanitarian rescue operations during natural calamities and other disturbances, like Operation Surya Hope, and can also be requisitioned by the government to cope with internal threats. It is a major component of national power alongside the Indian Navy and the Indian Air Force.The army has been involved in four wars with neighbouring Pakistan and one with China. Other major operations undertaken by the army include: Operation Vijay, Operation Meghdoot and Operation Cactus.

The army has conducted large peace time exercises such as Operation Brasstacks and Exercise Shoorveer, and it has also been an active participant in numerous United Nations peacekeeping missions, including those in Cyprus, Lebanon, Congo, Angola, Cambodia, Vietnam, Namibia, El Salvador, Liberia, Mozambique, South Sudan, and Somalia.

The Indian Army is operationally and geographically divided into seven commands, with the basic field formation being a division. Below the division level are permanent regiments that are responsible for their own recruiting and training. The army is an all-volunteer force and comprises more than 80% of the country’s active defence personnel. It is the largest standing army in the world, with 1,237,117 active troops and 960,000 reserve troops. The army has embarked on an infantry modernisation program known as Futuristic Infantry Soldier As a System (F-INSAS), and is also upgrading and acquiring new assets for its armoured, artillery, and aviation branches.


The Indian Navy is the naval branch of the Indian Armed Forces. The President of India is the Supreme Commander of the Indian Navy. The Chief of Naval Staff, a four-star Admiral, commands the navy.

 Founded  1612
 Size  67,228 active personnel
 Garrison / Headquarter  New Delhi
 Motto  शं नो वरुणः (May the Lord of the Water be auspicious unto us)
 Anniversaries  4 December (Navy Day)
 Chief of Naval Staff Admiral R. Hari Kumar, PVSM, AVSM, VSM, ADC
 Vice Chief of Naval Staff Vice Admiral S.N. Ghormade, AVSM, NM

The Indian Navy is a well-balanced and cohesive three-dimensional force, capable of operating above, on and under the surface of the oceans, efficiently safeguarding our national interests.

The Chief of the Naval Staff (CNS) exercises operational and administrative control of the Indian Navy from the Integrated Headquarters of Ministry of Defence (Navy). He is assisted by the Vice Chief of the Naval Staff (VCNS) and three other Principal Staff Officers, namely the Deputy Chief of the Naval Staff (DCNS), the Chief of Personnel (COP) and the Chief of Material (COM).


The Indian Air Force  is the air arm of the Indian armed forces. Its complement of personnel and aircraft assets ranks fourth amongst the airforces of the world. Its primary mission is to secure Indian airspace and to conduct aerial warfare during armed conflict. It was officially established on 8 October 1932 as an auxiliary air force of the British Empire which honored India’s aviation service during World War II with the prefix Royal. After India gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1947, the name Royal Indian Air Force was kept and served in the name of Dominion of India. With the government’s transition to a Republic in 1950, the prefix Royal was removed after only three years.

 Founded  8 October 1932
 Size  1,39,576 active personnel, 1,720+ Aircrafts
 Headquarter  New Delhi
 Motto नभः स्पृशं दीप्तम्  (Touch the Sky with Glory)
 Anniversaries  8 October (Airforce Day)
 Chief of The Air Staff Air Chief Marshal VR Chaudhari PVSM AVSM VM ADC
 Vice Chief of The Air Staff Air Marshal Sandeep Singh AVSM VM

The President of India holds the rank of Supreme Commander of the IAF. As of 1 July 2017, 139,576 personnel are in service with the Indian Air Force. The Chief of Air Staff, an air chief marshal, is a four-star officer and is responsible for the bulk of operational command of the Air Force. There is never more than one serving ACM at any given time in the IAF. The rank of Marshal of the Air Force has been conferred by the President of India on one occasion in history, to Arjan Singh. On 26 January 2002 Singh became the first and so far, only five-star rank officer of the IAF.