Nagaland: Green hills & fiercely independent People! (Part-3)

Nagaland: Green hills & fiercely independent People! (Part-3)


Insurgency originated in Northeast India in Nagaland.  The roots of the Naga separatism go back to the formation of Naga Club in 1918 at Kohima. The objective of this Naga Club was to represent Naga Interests to the British Government. The Nagas submitted a memorandum to the Simon Commission that visited Nagaland in 1929. Via this memorandum, they requested the British Government to leave the Nagas as free people and not to include them within the Indian Union. This spirit of FREEDOM IS AN ESSENCE OF NAGA SOCIETY TILL DATE!
In July 1947, the NNC let by Dr. A.Z. Phizo met Mahatma Gandhi and stated that the Nagas would declare their independence day on 14.8.1947. They indeed declared their independence on 14th August 1947. Phizo was arrested in 1948 by Government of India. Once released, he led NNC again. The Government of India, while taking effective measures to put down the insurgency, decided to meet the genuine aspirations of Nagas and, therefore, carved out a separate State of Nagaland in Dec1963.

Ceasefire Agreement 1997

On August 01, 1997, a cease-fire agreement was negotiated between the Government of India and the NSCN (IM).  More than fifty rounds of peace talks have since been held between the representatives of the Government of India and the rebel Naga leaders.  There have been no major agreements.

Demand for Nagalim & State Response

The Naga rebels have been insisting on their sovereignty and also demanding the creation of a ‘Greater Nagaland’ or Nagalim, which consists all the Naga-inhabited areas of neighbouring Assam, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh and some portions Myanmar, which it considers to be the rightful homeland of the Nagas.  Establishment of Nagalim is the objective of NCSN (IM), according to which Nagalim lies in the Patkai range at the trijunction of China, India and Myanmar.
The NSCN-IM maintains that at present Nagalim has been subdivided by the Government of India into four different administrative units: Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Nagaland. Likewise, they claim that Myanmar too has parts of Nagalim and has divided it under two administrative units of Kachin State and Sagaing division. Thus, the establishment of Nagalim threatens to include large chunks of territories of three neighbouring States, Assam, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh, along with some portion of Myanmar.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment